Monday, November 11, 2013

50 Years Malaysia

When Malaysia (then Malaya) gained its independence on 31 Aug 1957, the multi-racial Federation of Malaya was established. This however excludes Sabah and Sarawak, which both are part of today's Malaysia.

On 31 Aug 1963, the British territories in North Borneo (i.e. Sabah and Sarawak) and Singapore were granted independence. History was once again created with the incorporation of Federation of Malaya, Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore under one banner, and Malaysia was thus formed on 16 Sep 1963.

Singapore was subsequently separated from Malaysia 2 years later, and hence Malaysia is made up of Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah and Sarawak, as we see it today.

In 2013, Malaysia celebrated its 50 years of formation, also its 56 years of independence. Pos Malaysia has issued a commemorative stamp to mark this milestone in Malaysia's history.

The stamp design portrays the 3 main icons of Malaysia - the Malaysian flag known as Jalur Gemilang, the map of Malaysia and the first Prime Minister of Malaysia, Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj.


Date of Issue : 16 Sep 2013
Postmark : Kuala Lumpur
Denomination : 60 sen
Stamp Size : 50mm x 30mm
Paper : SPM Watermarked, Phosphor Coated
Printing Process : Lithography (Gold Printing)


In the past, only the Independence Day is celebrated and a public holiday in Malaysia. In 2009, Malaysia Day was declared a public holiday.

The first Malaysia Day was celebrated on 16 Sep 2010. Malaysia Day would be celebrated with events that would foster closer unity, understanding between the different races and community success and achievements in various fields, with the objective to spur the 1Malaysia spirit.

No comments:

Post a Comment