Saturday, May 28, 2016

Garden Flowers - Definitive Series (Johor)

A definitive stamp is part of a regular issue of a country's stamps available for sale for an extended period of time.

The Garden Series definitive stamps were first issued on 31 Dec 2007, with the following denominations - 5 sen, 10 sen, 20 sen, 30 sen, 40 sen and 50 sen. The equivalent state definitive stamps were subsequently issued almost 2 years later with the same denominations.

With the revision of the new postal tariff on 1 Jul 2010, the Garden Series definitive stamps were reissued as a national definitive series, with the following denominations - 30 sen, 50 sen, 60 sen, 70 sen, 80 sen, 90 sen, RM1 and RM2. Two new stamp designs were issued, each for the RM1 and RM2 stamp respectively.

In Feb 2016, Pos Malaysia reissued the Garden Series state definitive stamps for the state of Johor in conjunction with Sultan Ibrahim coronation anniversary on 23 Mar 2016, with the following different denominations from the national definitive series :

o  10 sen - National definitive 30 sen stamp design
o  20 sen - National definitive 50 sen stamp design
o  30 sen - National definitive 70 sen stamp design
o  40 sen - National definitive 60 sen stamp design
o  50 sen - National definitive 90 sen stamp design
o  60 sen - National definitive 80 sen stamp design


Date of Issue : 25 Feb 2016
Postmark : Johor Bahru
Denomination : 10 sen, 20 sen, 30 sen, 40 sen, 50 sen and 60 sen
Stamp Size : 27mm x 32mm
Paper : SPM Watermarked, Phosphor Coated
Printing Process : Lithography


The emblem of Johor as well as the current reigning Sultan of Johor, HRH Sultan Ibrahim Ismail, are shown at the top right corner of the stamps.

In the previous state definitive stamps issued in 2009, the reigning Sultan at that time, the late Sultan Iskandar was shown at the top right corner of the stamps, together with the emblem of Johor.

Click on below links to find out more on previous issues of Garden Series definitive stamps :

No comments:

Post a Comment